Mig welder will not make bead

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mig welder will not make bead

I have a linde 225 Migmaster welder. For some reason, when I try to weld, the arc spitters and stops but I can not make a bead. If I turn up the heat, or try it for more than a few seconds, the wire glows red hot from tip up into the gun then sticks. I think the only thing that has changed is that I got a new gas cylinder. I would appreciate any advice possible.

Thanks

Kurt

Any chance you got a bad cylinder of shielding gas? I know it is rare, but does happen from time to time.
    Millermatic Passport Plus
    Millermatic 200

Millermatic 350P with Python
    XMT 304 /w S-64 feeder and 12RC
    Dynasty 300 DX
    Victor O/A
    Premier Power Welder for my trail junk.

Comment

Check for any poor electrical connections on your work lead or on the gun lead assembly side.

Might be time for a new contact tip.
      MigMaster 250- Smooth arc with a good touch of softness to it. Good weld puddle wetout. Light spatter producer.
      Ironman 230 - Soft arc with a touch of agressiveness to it. Very good weld puddle wet out. Light spatter producer.

PM 180C

HH 125 EZ - impressive little fluxcore only unit

Comment

wire melts

This is a classic problem. the power cable is not attached to the gun tube so the weld wire must carry the current form the drive roll to the work and can't do it . Take the gun apart and see if the cable connections are intact.
        O.F.

Comment

Thanks for the input, still need help