Millermatuc 175 vs HH187

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Millermatuc 175 vs HH187

I am new to mig welding and will be primarily welding 20 gauge sheet metal.
    I am considering buying a used M175 vs HH187 because of the savings. What would be advantages and disadvantages? I want to go to a 220 volt machine to allow me to weld thicker metal if I should ever have the need.

The 187 is most definitely the better of the two, and it isn't even a close contest. The MM 175 is a nightmare to deal with, when it comes to tune in the arc properly. The MM 175 is very finnicky in the area of arc starts.The top end performance on the MM 175 is pretty rough too, meaning the arc is harsh, the weld puddle doesn't wet out very well, and there is quite a bit of spatter.

In contrast, the HH 187, depending on your skilll level, can be quite simple to dial a very solid arc in on. No matter your skill level though, between these two units, the HH 187 will always be the much easier unit to dial a solid arc in on. As long as you have the unit set up properly , and the voltage to wire speed ratio dialed in reasonably to the right proportion, poor arc starts from the HH 187 should never be an issue. Once again as long as you have it tuned in properly , and are running a good wire, you should never experience harsh arc characteristic from the HH 187. The HH187 produces a very smooth consistent arc through out all 7 voltage taps. Weld puddle wetout on the top end is very good, and the spatter level is extremely low for the out put power level that the top end is capable of producing.

I can honestly state, 10 out of 10 times, I would without hesitation choose the HH 187 over the MM 175.

BTW, I have quite a few hours put in on both units.
    Last edited by Dan; 10-08-2007, 08:18 PM.
    MigMaster 250- Smooth arc with a good touch of softness to it. Good weld puddle wetout. Light spatter producer.