Hf Mig

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hf Mig

Has anyone out there ever tried a Harbor Freight mig/flux welder?And if so how did it work?

I would save my money. You only have to buy quality once.
    What do I know I am just an electronics technician.

Comment

Hf Mig

You misunderstood,i already have a mig.I was just wondering what they were like because i see them in the catalog often.

Comment

I haven't tried one of the HF MIGs, and have no need to anymore, but I have talked to several beginner bicycle builders who use them successfully to stick 16 ga square tube together at light duty cycles. Here is one man's opinion of several welders, although he doesn't cover the cheap MIGs:

http://www.buildyourowntrike.com/hig...igh_tools.html

He likes the HF AC/DC stick welder, but for $150-$200 you can buy a good used Hobart, Miller, or Lincoln off Craigslist most days , so I opted to buy a used Miller Thunderbolt for $200, and could probably have talked the guy down, but it came with about 75 feet of finger thick copper leads.

Here is a happy user review of a HF MIG. Interestingly, he also owns a Miller 210 - go figure. The picture of the wire feed mechanism scares me, but everyone has their own quality standards:

http://www.valleymetal.org/MIG%20Welding/index.htm

I have a tool box full of cheap Chinese tools and like most of them for what they are. When it came time to buy a welder, I decided that since I didn't know how to weld yet, I needed all the help I could get and didn't want to wonder if it was me or the welder, so I paid $377 on sale and with a 10% off coupon for my HH 140 from TSC in February. I could probably sell it for $300-$350 today or for years to come. I doubt the Harbor Freight MIGs will hold their value like that. I'm not sure what you do if one of the cheap MIGs needs a part, or how long the flimsy wire feeder mechanism will last if you use it a lot. I know for sure you won't get the kind of support we get from Hobart.