Need help with old hobart/American cryogenic

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need help with old hobart/American cryogenic

Free welder that I got from my dad. I have no clue when it was manufactured. Willys in it still runs great and it welded great until I flipped the polarity switch. Now there's nothing. Generator works but will not strike an arc. Any chance I can still find a switch? Any info would be very appreciated. Thanks.

Well I'll be. This is a first for me. I'm just going to stand back and breath that bad boy in. Whew. I never seen one of them before? I'm curious what part does cryogenic play? I'm sure you can find a switch. A switch is a switch is a switch, almost of course? Said the man with a horse of course. You might be able to clean that one up actually but I'm no expert.

My question is, why did you go and change polarity? Lol...I know why? Because you could. lol. You sure it's locked into a location?

Comment

I've never seen one like it and nobody else i know has either. I cant find anything about it online. Im sure switch is broken. Tested it with fluke meter. I'm thinking I may find one at an electrical supply store.

Comment

While I can't say with certainty, you probably won't find much if anything on the company. Long since gone into history. Many companies buy and rebrand products, for a number of reasons, but fail to sustain the image or amass a following. Could also have been that they bought this from here, that from there and the next thing you know...you got a welder.

Ever hear of Greyhound A.C. Welder Corp?
        ERGOLYTE Manufacturing Company?
        Hercules Electric & Manufacturing Company?
        Westinghouse Electric Manufacturing?

How about Marquette? They still around? Anyways , post a couple three pictures of the switch and you might be surprised at the response.

Comment