Electrical Questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Electrical Questions

Hi, so I am very new to the welding world and have been looking around for one to buy. I want something cheap and easy to learn on so i was looking at the Titanium 125. But my overall question was regarding electrical outlets i guess. I live in an apartment with no dryer 220 outlets so Im left with the 120v 15 amp circuit outlets and no way to modify anything. Don't really want to screw up anything and know very little about electrical wiring. Just wondering whether it would burn my apartment down/ repeatedly trip the breaker/ whether it would work etc. And I wouldn't really wanna buy a generator or anything. Any advice/recommendations is appreciated.

thanks,

Hobart Hamdler 140. I love mine and welds 1/4 inch like a champ.

Comment

The major hold back is going to be the 15 amp receptical (circuit) ....... Its going to limit you to about a 70-80AMP capability no matter what welder you buy, to get a full top quality 120V welder (140 amp) its going to require a receptical with a 20 or 30 amp breaker behind it...... Get best welder you can afford and be content with its limited usability till you can get out of apartment and get a good shop with proper electricals to run welder at full capacity.... My choice was top end 120V Hobart Handler 140, though I do a lot of small work it can go up to 140 Amp and do 1/4 inch materials, so it does about 95% of may needs. but it requires a receptical with at least 25 amp capability to run full out...

Dale

Last edited by Dale M.; Yesterday, 07:54 AM.
      "Fear The Government That Wants To Take Your Guns" - Thomas Jefferson..

Comment

Originally posted by Dale M. View Post