Advice for future welder

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice for future welder

So im curious? can any of you experienced welders give me some advice. As just a fabrictaion student i dont know the trade very well yet and wanted to know the area of the industry to start in if i want to become a knowledgeable and experienced tig welder?
    Last edited by Zauoli; 12-09-2019, 04:51 AM.

I recommend contacting the American Welding Society and direct Your question to them. You can do a google search and get their contact info. Their was an article in a recent magazine of theirs concerning the subject. I'm just learning the skill so I would like to hear from other experience Tigger's also. Youtube is also a good resource for learning. Many excellent videos there. Tig welding has a very steep learning curve so many hours of practice and dedication are necessary. I have a post in the TIG category and received some excellent advice from an experienced Tigger. Its been very helpful. Good Luck.

Comment

Originally posted by Zauoli View Post
      So im curious? can any of you experienced welders give me some advice. As just a fabrictaion student i dont know the trade very well yet and wanted to know the area of the industry to start in if i want to become a knowledgeable and experienced tig welder?
      At one time, we had several specialized GTAW welders on this board, but they have gone where ever past forum members go. However, their posts are still in the archives and you might try a search for any questions you might have.

Most weldors start in the trade by becoming skilled in all of the major processes before specializing, and employers often do not test or hire some one who is only qualified in one area, since they may want an employee they can move to any area in the fabrication process.