How to weld thicker material

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to weld thicker material

I am a beginning welder and have bought the Hobart 100 to learn with. The parameters for this machine recommend a maximum thickness of 3/16 inch. My question is if I wanted to weld a little thicker metal say 1/4 inch is that a good idea? When I was doing research on this machine I read things like this machine will weld thicker metal "if you know a little about welding" so I am wondering how this would be done with decent results so does this mean stacking welds or some other method to do this. My first project is to build a table where I will need to weld 1/8" tube to 1/4" sheet steel and I want to do it the right way so your input is valuable to me. Thank you for your advice.

Depends on the application of what you are making, because some welds need to have the full strength of the thickness of the material being welded, and some welds just need to keep things together in a static condition.

The maximum advertised thicknesses are already assuming expert experience and ideal conditions. Beyond that, it just means even more so, AND with multiple pass welding, which has interpass cleaning and other needed techniques added.

If you are just making a table for yourself, using material at hand, just do it. What's the worst that can happen?

Comment

"My question is if I wanted to weld a little thicker metal say 1/4 inch is that a good idea?"

Well I've heard of worse ones? But it does depend... For instance, if you go swimming with sharks big enough that you look like a bait fish, is that a good idea? Probably not. But if they were small, or not many, as Mac suggested, what's the worst that can happen?

Fact is, most mild steels have a tensile strength of around 56,000 pounds per square inch. Most weld metal 60-70,000 pounds per square inch tensile strength.