Questions about welding 4140 steel and embrittlement

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Questions about welding 4140 steel and embrittlement

I work in an engineering setting and have recently experienced a failure of a large pin that functions in the chassis of heavy machinery. In our machines, the pin is welded to a yoke that supports the wheels by one of our vendors. Unfortunately, this pin completely sheared in two during operation. I am not a welding expert and I wanted to research if there is any chance that improper welding practices could have led to the failure. I have done a bit of reading on welding 4140 and had a few questions:

Why is welding on 4140HT not recommended and why does it cause cracking?

Why does 4140 need to be preheated prior to welding?

Any other additional information I should be aware of about welding 4140 that if done improperly could cause failure?

Thank you for your assistance

If it wasn't preheated properly it would brake in a short time IMO I learned the hard way.

Comment

Originally posted by 7055 View Post
      I work in an engineering setting and have recently experienced a failure of a large pin that functions in the chassis of heavy machinery. In our machines, the pin is welded to a yoke that supports the wheels by one of our vendors. Unfortunately, this pin completely sheared in two during operation. I am not a welding expert and I wanted to research if there is any chance that improper welding practices could have led to the failure. I have done a bit of reading on welding 4140 and had a few questions:

Any other additional information I should be aware of about welding 4140 that if done improperly could cause failure?

There is no HELPFUL way to answer your questions with the information you gave.

1)There are plenty of ways that "improper welding practices" could have resulted in the pin failure. See Hydrogen ,and other types of embrittlement.