advice on welding 1/4" tube?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• advice on welding 1/4" tube?

i just bought a lincon 140c (used) with pure co2. im new to welding, thus far i have welded 1/2" with a friends 240v hobart years ago for my bumper/grill guard and many hard impacts later its still holding strong. i also welded my first body panels in the other week with my 140.

i have some 1/2" walled 1.5" dom with some bungs i need to weld in. this will be used for a tierod/drag link on my truck. my thought is to do a fairly heavy bevel, preheat the materials, and run maybe 3 passes on it. the bungs are threaded so ill have to wait for cool down between passes so i dont destroy the threads. the machine lists 5/16 multi pass as its max. i was also considering drilling a hole in the DOM and plug welding the bungs in so there is a mechanical safety dowel basically so if the main weld failed it wouldn't come out.

i ordered more tube than i need so i plan to do some test welding before going to the main job. what are some ways to sink out heat from the bung to help prevent warpage of the threads?

thoughts/advice?

If it's just regular mild carbon steel you wouldn't need to preheat it I would think. I've used DOM pipe before. I like it for shafts because it's like cold rolled steel and is closer to exact dimensions that hot rolled pipe. If you are unsure of your welding I would practice a lot on scrap pieces and there are a ton of Mig welding videos on youtube. I was teaching a young welder's helper the other day to mig weld and he thought he was doing good but I had to tell him that "Bubble gum" welds with cold lap ain't gonna make it. and He got it better in an hour's time to where he was laying down some decent beads. It would be a good ideal to grind a V bevel in 1/4 or thicker material. Just weld it hot and make sure you have good tie-ins and no cold lap and you should be fine.

Comment

Originally posted by incc74656i View Post