Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

220 wiring question (Hobart Handler 190)

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 220 wiring question (Hobart Handler 190)

I'm new to welding have limited prior home electrical experience.
    I would like to put 220 in my garage. I have space on my circuit panel for it. I am in the United States. The plug that is attached to the welder looks like a 50 amp 3 prong plug.
    According to manual:
    Input amps at 30% Duty Cycle is 20.5 amps. Max recommended Normal operating fuse is 30 amp. Min Input conductor size is 14 AWG. My run will be less than 25 ft.

I have been reading a lot online and on this website. My questions are:

1. why is it a "max" recommended fuse of 30 amps when the plug is 50 amp rated? and why is it a max and not a minimum? Much of what I have already read online recommends a 50 amp breaker.

2.14 AWG seems way too small based on what I've read, but then again this could tie into question 1.

thanks

The NEMA 6-50 plug/receptical has become a industry standard for welders, and due to electrical usage there is no minimum current specification for plug/receptical... Using a maximum rating is to insure that a 50 amp draw on plug/receptical is not exceeded or goes beyond design/engineering capabilities ... This has been confirmed by a staff of engineers to keep the average person in a safe zone, and if one ventures outside the safe zone the liabilities are on that person...