First time Welder... need some help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First time Welder... need some help

I'm brand new to welding. As in today was the first time I've ever touched a welder. I build drums (hand drums) and have always ordered the metal rings. I decided it was time to make my own, and on a deadline for a drum, I thought I'd just buy this thing stick the ring together and be on my way... HAHA...

So here is the equip... I've got a harbor freight easy mig 100 (90 bucks on sale) the wire that came with it says K-NGS .8mm flux cored arc welding wire.

My main use for buying this, and my only current need for this welder is to weld 1/4" 1018 cold rolled rods (rolling the rod into a ring and welding the ends together).

So.. are those ready to run out of the box? I'm finding lots of (found this word through google searches...) porosity in the welds. Is this wire supposed to be shielded? I know MIG is shielded but flux core is not...?? I dont know that.. I just said that.. I need help...

Here is my current process...