Starting a Wedling Biz-Need Advice/Info

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Starting a Wedling Biz-Need Advice/Info

I'm starting my own welding business, first a little info about me, I've been welding for 17 years, started in a vocational highschool, then I went on to specialize in production work, always in a fab shop setting, specializing in Mig & Tig, precision sheetmetal work, tank building...I can stick but I'm a little rusty, I got out of the fab shops about 10 years ago, a good job came along in another field that was too good to pass up for my family (great pay & benefits) I still work for said company but I'm wanting to start my own welding/fab shop and be my own boss, it's starting off part time out of my own garage until (hopefully) I get enough business to go fulltime and take an early retirement at my current job. I have a 250amp Mig and a Miller Syncrowave 200 to start off with machine wise, of course I have a cutting torch and all the grinders and hand tools etc I need, I'm planning to add a machine to the back of my truck if I get enough interest in on-site work.

That being said what I dont know and need help with is the business side of things, I've never had to price out a job, again all my experience was working for someone, as a "cog in the wheel" if you will, now I've got an offer to do some work for a gentleman, and I'm not sure how to price it, I know obviously I have to figure out and call for pricing on the required steel for the job, but how do I account for gas, mig wire, grinding wheels etc? Break each item down to exact unit cost? Say grinding wheels, I buy in 25 pc boxes, divide the box price by 25 and go with that? What about gas and wire?

I know my labor cost I have to figure in too, any ideas what I should shoot for there? How does one find out what going rate is in my area? I'm in southern NH

Thanks for any help you guys can offer.

Ryan