X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I can't see my work...

Some one please educate me...

I am a novice welder at best. That means I only weld maybe 1 time a month -
    Mostly MIG with my 187 - occasionaly stick. And this is usually when something is in need of repair - or I need to make a jig for my custom wood shop.

My question is simple... Is my sheild too dark??? In good bright sunlight, I can not see any thing of my work in front of me. When I strike an arc I can see my work - but I still want to see better.

I have a very cheap lid from Central Tractor - I am not in the mood to spend a fortune on a high quality lid - is there a scale or test to know that I have the right sheild?? Meaning too little or too much???

Thanks.

Ed

Try this list...

http://ehs.unl.edu/sop/s-welding_lens_shading.pdf

The lens you would use on the typical stick weld, as sold for your hood, is darker than what you would use on your 187 due to the potential of having it used for heavy amp work. Also helps to keep a strong light on the work.
    Last edited by Wyoming; 01-04-2009, 05:47 PM.
    Miller 251, Lincoln PrecisionTig 275, Miller DialArc 250 AC/DC, Hypertherm 900, Bridgeport J-head, Jet 14" lathe, South Bend 9" lathe, Hossfeld bender with a collection of dies driving me to the poorhouse, Logan shaper, Ellis 3000 bandsaw, Royersford drill press and a Victor Journeyman O/A.

Comment

Thank you Wyoming -

Looks like i should be in the "12" range.

I am a perfectionist in my shop and in my work - I know I can lay down a better bead than I am - I hope being able to see what I am doing helps.

Ed

Comment

try a '10'

If I'm using a fixed shade helmet I prefer a shade 10 for most welding. Any darker than that is too dark for me...
        Miller Dynasty 200DX
        Hobart T225 Stick
        Hobart Handler 180
        Airco O/A Rig
        ESAB W-200 O/A torch

Comment