What Welder to buy?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What Welder to buy?

My Mom and Dad bought me a Lincoln Electric 100Hd For Xmiss, After they talked to me about it we are going to take it back sence its to small for what I need.

Im starting to build a HOTROD TRUCK. The thickest steel I'll weld is 10Ga, I wont do body work with a mig sence the steel is way to thin but floorpans I'll do. I can get a tig from a friend for the body work. I've been looking at the Lincoln 3200 at homedepot, I bet frame work is pushing that welder. I've taken a look at the Pro Mig 180 sence I found it for 300$ new on the net.
    We can't spind more then 500$ on this.
    I do have a 220 Plug in the shop but my ARC welder is useing that Plug, If I had to I can unplug it wile im not useing it. Im still new at this welding deal.

What woud be the best welder for what I need to do? I can live with out doing the frame with my welder, My ARC might do it. I have 3 good friends that weld on the gas pipe lines stuff like that and they all use LINCOLN Rigs from the late 60's, So if I can I woud like to have a Lincoln sence I've been aroud them for 4 years now lol. My friends are never home to show me how to weld so I have to teach my self. Im all ways cuting my welds apart to see what they look like.

Thanks ever one for the help.
    1971 Ford Custom
    1941 Ford Truck HOTROD
    1950 Farmall Cub Tractor
    1915 Case Hay Press

Most folks I know use mig to do bodywork. Actually that is usually the reason they buy them. If you must buy red, I would get the 175 machine. You can get the 175HD for under $500.00 . Thats the welder I was going to buy before I read about all the good things here on the Hobarts (went with the HH210). The 175 is a 220 and yes it should have the same plug as your arc welder. Most likely your Arc welder is drawing more amps and you have a 50 breaker on it. A 30 amp breaker is the min for this class of welder.