Best method

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best method

Hello, I am new to welding and I have one done a couple of small projects. I have a hobart LX 235 AC/DC welder and I have made a stand for my welder, a welding\cutting table and a weight box for my garden tractor.

Since my garden tractor doesn't have a 3 point hitch I made axles for the weight box using angle iron and a 3/4 inch solid bar. This works great, except I was to eager and didn't measure correctly and the weight box wheels touch the tractor wheels, so I need to move them.

Can someone tell me the best method for removing the welds? I used a 3/32 rod and made mutliple passes. Thanks!

Unless you have access to an arcair carbon rod gouge or a plasma cutter with gouging tip a 4.5" angle grinder is probably the easiest and cheapest meathod to do it. I have found that the (SAIT) brand grinder wheels last the longest especially when grinding thru heavy weld. Just my 2cents!
    Nickoli
    ~ OUCH...OUCH...#@&$ OUCH... That didn't take long to look at! ~

Lincoln Pro Mig175
    Hypertherm Powermax600
    Victory Journeyman O/Lp
    Jet 4x6 Bandsaw
    Craftsman Chop Saw
    Craftsman 15in Stationary Drill Press
    Grizzly Compact Bender
    Many Other Various Tools

Comment

Thank You!, I have a grinder, I will look for the wheels you mentioned, Thanks again!

Comment

...and then use a Cutting Disc in that grinder to get down in the joint that last little bit. I have often found that the weld penetrated beyond what I could grind off, and have had to resort to chizels and a BFH to 'split' the welded areas apart. You might peel up some metal in the process, but that can be filled.
        "Good Enough Never Is"

Comment