Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I'm a hobbyist welder but eyes are really sensitive (dry). Not flashing myself. Help!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'm a hobbyist welder but eyes are really sensitive (dry). Not flashing myself. Help!

Hi guys, I'm a first time poster here and I am looking for some help and hope. I have been hobbyist mig welding for the past 5 years or so. I weld very infrequently, no more than once a month, doing amateur automotive restoration type work. My eyes never used to bother me welding before. In the past year, even my infrequent, very short duration welding projects have caused my eyes to really bother me starting several hours after my welding. I get eye pain that is light sensitive, and it will last several days after I have stopped welding. I went out and bought a Miller $250 auto dark helmet so I could easily adjust the darkness to get as dark as I could still barely see, and that did not help at all. I also bought some UV goggles that seal to my face, to wear under my helmet, to make sure stray UV was not leaking around the sides of the mask from off of reflective surface. Finally, I tried using a cloth draped around the mask to seal off any stray light from even entering around the sides of the mask. Nothing has helped and I still end up with very noticeable eye pain even after welding for only a few minutes.

I do have dry eyes, and the welding does seem to leave me with even drier eyes afterwards. My eyes do get slightly scratchy sometimes for the few days they bother me afterwards, but it does not sound like the "sand in eyes" symptoms of arc burn. I don't wake up in the night from the pain and it never feels extremely gritty, just moreso general pain/feeling of pressure around the eyes that takes several days to go away.