Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Will I Be Able To Weld Two Sockets Together?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Will I Be Able To Weld Two Sockets Together?

I need to fabricate a special purpose tool by welding two ratchet type sockets together (side by side) which I have never done before.

Will I be able to do it with my HH175 using c25?

Does it matter if the sockets are impact type or plain chrome plated?

Is there any special preparation I should do to insure good penetration or to break through the outside plating or finish on the sockets?

Thank you.

Dom

Grind off the chrome coating and have at it..... some chine cheap sockets are made from less than ideal steel and most all I have tried to weld didn't work out too well.....
    George W. Bush saving your butt whether you like it or not!
    If there must be trouble let it be in my day, that my child may have peace.
    Thomas Paine
    Fear is temporary, regret is forever
    HH210 w S.G.
    Victor/Uniweld O/P
    Dewalt Chop Saw

Comment

If you were stick welding this, would 6010/6011 be the way to go? Just askin'...not hijackin'...

Comment

Yeah,6010/6011 would be the way to go stick welding.Also flux-core wire would do it ,with no grinding.

Comment

6011 would work but 7018 might be even better.
          http://www.facebook.com/cary.urka.urkafarms

Comment

..or just weld a cheap extension right up next to the socket. Grind the chrome off it and the socket surface...OR. Cut and weld that cheap extension into an offset shape to use,.. that way, you can put any size socket on it you need.

What you are trying to do is much like a "Crowsfoot" wrench...would one of those work for you?

"Good Enough Never Is"

Comment

Here's what I'm trying to do and I've tried to attach a couple of pictures to show you what I'm dealing with.