Self-Taught Procedures?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Self-Taught Procedures?

OK, total newbie here but I'm having some happy results to self-teaching myself stick welding (with some advice from pros and borrowed textbooks and feedback that I get here). Or so I think (nobody is x-raying my flagpole and trailer welds...)

So now I'm thinking I'm a big expert I guess. (Just kidding guys.)

The problem is, I see these BEAUTIFUL welds that you TGAW boys create and I am super super super JEALOUS.

My question is this:

The Hobart website suggests that MIG is easiest, stick is moderate and TIG requires "high" skill. I'm wondering how big the jump is between "moderate" and "high" skill.

I have never MIG welded so I am clueless about that. But I'm learning to stick weld, I believe. So how much harder is TIG than stick?

I suspect part of it is that you're using two hands, feeding the filler metal into the arc with one hand while controlling the arc with the other...right?

ALL I WANT TO KNOW IS HOW YOU BOYS GET SUCH BEAUTIFUL WELDS WITH THAT PROCESS!

All right, sorry for the PWI but I'm on vacation, gentlemen...

Jeff

Try oxy/acetelyene welding to get almost a feel for GTAW (TIG). GMAW (MIG) is about like using a caulk gun and laying caulk that doesn't need touching up.

Once you learn this stuff you will wonder why it ever seemed hard.
    Two turn tables and a microphone.

Comment

The reason that TIG is more difficult than MIG is that TIG requires a lot more heat / puddle control and manual dexterity that MIG.

Comment

Trying TIG

Yes, Tig needs a good right hand, a good left hand, one good foot, and really great eyes that are attentive to detail. After stick and Mig, Tig is a little like rubbing your stomach and patting your head at the same time in perfect synchronization. So many variables with Tig make it a challenge to learn but definitely not impossible.
        Jim Don

Comment