Chromo

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Chromo

Hey guys, been a while since I've been on, lots o stuff has been going on lately (lost the girlfriend, gained a dog, started playing lap steel, etc.). Anyways, I'm curious about welding some chromoly alloys, (I haven't looked that far into it yet, but I'm guessing 4130 or something similar) and I'm not sure what process I need to use to weld these types of steel alloys. I imagine I could mig it with the correct wire (and gas mixture?), but I'm not sure. Would an alloy like this need to be tig'd? Could you weld 4130 together with a regular mild steel wire? If so, would the strength of the weld be adequate? Of course I'm still learning (always will) and I'd appreciate some advice. Thanks a lot!

Oakes

Originally posted by Oakesmobile View Post
    Hey guys, been a while since I've been on, lots o stuff has been going on lately (lost the girlfriend, gained a dog, started playing lap steel, etc.). Anyways, I'm curious about welding some chromoly alloys, (I haven't looked that far into it yet, but I'm guessing 4130 or something similar) and I'm not sure what process I need to use to weld these types of steel alloys. I imagine I could mig it with the correct wire (and gas mixture?), but I'm not sure. Would an alloy like this need to be tig'd? Could you weld 4130 together with a regular mild steel wire? If so, would the strength of the weld be adequate? Of course I'm still learning (always will) and I'd appreciate some advice. Thanks a lot!

Oakes

Oakes,