Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Galvanized steel tubing weld-up questions.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Galvanized steel tubing weld-up questions.

Friends,

Noob here...forgive me if I placed this question in the wrong forum and sorry for the length of this post.

I'm just getting back into welding after being out for 12-15 yrs and am not a professional welder by any means. I do have several years of stick welding experience from back in the day, but am having to re-learn the trade.

I have 3 teenage boys that want to learn to weld, and we have quite a few projects we want to build together. Here's the first one...

We are starting a project welding up some 1-1/2" thin-wall (.065), mild steel galvanized EMT conduit/tubing (electrician's conduit) to build a couple of L-screens for our local high school baseball facility.

We live in a football-first town and unfortunately, improvements to our baseball facilities fall on local biz donations and dad's with skillz (and equipment).

I'm pretty much a noob to mig welding and recently bought a HH 140, which I'd like to use on this project. That being said, I'm totally willing to stick weld if it would give me better results (I have a Miller TB 300/200 AC/DC box).

FYI-I have read extensively on-line about the hazards of welding up galvie pipe and am quite aware of the precautions needed to avoid breathing the toxic fumes. Glad I read up on that...

Anyhow, back to my project. I'm going to weld up the pre-bent 90 degree elbows to the straight pieces for this project, and haven't any experience welding thin-wall (.065) pipe/tubing before.

Here's my questions:

1) Recs on breathing apparatus or chemical masks that are practical under a welding hood??

2) Would I be better off mig or stick welding this type of tubing??

3) Which size wire for mig and/or which size & type of electrode would you recommend for this application??