New to welding - Looking for tips or suggestions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to welding - Looking for tips or suggestions

Ok I'm very new to welding. Tried it for the first time today. I bought a Hobart Handler 187 welder to finish a motorcycle project.

I'm practicing using flux core but am going to buy a tank in the next couple days. Figured I might as well practice with the flux core wire that came with my Hobart.

I'm using .030 flux core wire and these test welds are on 11 guage steel. I used the recommended settings of 4/60.

My first few welds sounded like they were really sputtering but once I figured out to keep the wire shorter (1/2" or so) it sounded better and looked better.

Here are a few of the first welds.

Wanted to add that its harder to keep steady in a straight line than I thought it was going to be.

Comment

Couple more pics of the same welds..just clearer pics:

Comment

Here is another pic. I can see how practice helps. I feel much more steady already. Seems like there is alot of splatter..is that because its flux core or am I doing something wrong?

Comment

Well... it's gotta be said, so probably better sooner than later - but no one can tell you anything meaningful through all that smoke and flux mess. Get busy with a wire brush and THEN post pictures, and you will probably get a lot more helpful advice.

As far as spatter, if you have that much, something's wrong, but what it is I can't tell without being able to actually see the welds and not the flux.
          Trailblazer 302 * Millermatic 212 * Syncrowave 180SD * X-Treme 12VS Feeder * Spoolmate 3035
          Thermal Dynamics Cutmaster 52 Plasma * Lincoln 175 MIG

Victor Superrange II * Victor Journeyman

Hobart HH 125EZ

Comment

hahaha..like I said..I'm new. Don't worry about hurting my feelings..I can take it. I just want to learn to weld.

Here is that last weld with most of the flux removed

Comment