dumb metal question

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• dumb metal question

I am new to the sport and want to start fabbing carts and tables. What is the difference between cold rolled and hot rolled steel? What do I need to be looking for? Sorry for the basic question, I just have no idea.
    Hobart Handler 125EZ
    Hitachi Chop Saw

http://www.hobartwelders.com/weldtal...ad.php?t=31235
    http://www.hobartwelders.com/weldtal...ad.php?t=23733
    http://www.hobartwelders.com/weldtal...ead.php?t=7552
    http://www.hobartwelders.com/weldtal...ad.php?t=25137
    Trailblazer 302 * Millermatic 212 * Syncrowave 180SD * X-Treme 12VS Feeder * Spoolmate 3035
    Thermal Dynamics Cutmaster 52 Plasma * Lincoln 175 MIG

Victor Superrange II * Victor Journeyman

Hobart HH 125EZ

Comment

The short answer s Hot Rolled Steel (HRS) in plate , round stock and square stock. It welds and forms easy...most always has a mill scale on it. Cold rolled is clean and has square corners on plate, and is more subject to cracking, so I'm told, however, I have never seen any of my CRS jobs crack.
      Arcin' and sparkin', Rocky D <><
      Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.
      IF YOU CAN READ THIS, THANK A TEACHER...
      IF YOU'RE READING THIS IN ENGLISH, THANK A SOLDIER!

Comment

Here's a little practical advice on the differences:

http://www.spaco.org/hrvscr.htm
        --- RJL ----------------------------------------------

Ordinarily I'm insane, but I have lucid moments when I'm merely stupid.
        -------------------------
        DialArc 250 (1974), Idealarc 250 (1971), SyncroWave 250 w/Coolmate 3, SP-175+, TA 161STL,
        Lincwelder AC180C (circa 1952), Victor & Smith's O/A, Dayton (Miller) spot welder, 1200 sq.ft. of garage filled with crap and a kid that can actually run the stuff +++

Comment