How are my welds

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How are my welds

I just got my new HH210 and this is my first time mig (well flux core until I go get gas) welding, I was practicing on some scrap I have laying around, wanted to get some opinions and tips/pointers on my first welds!

You need to clean the areas of the metal you are welding at the intended welded area. Some of the pics showed weld where the slag had not been cleaned off. It makes for better viewing. A little more info would help also, as far as recommendations are concerned, ie settings, wire size, etc. It is important that the weld fuses the pieces your welding together. I say this not to be a smart-a$$, but for guidance. The first time my son used a mig welder, he had a beautiful bead, but he dropped the plate and the bead fell off.

From what I can tell, your getting there. The thing about all types of welding is practice, practice, practice. I am a fine one to talk, I don't practice nearly as much as I should, of course I just use my welders for hobby and small repairs or fabrications around the house.

There are others on this site are better qualified to advise you than I, but I thought I would share this experience with you.

Hope you the best, and welcome to the site!

Jim
    Last edited by Knowledgeworker; 04-06-2009, 12:07 AM. Reason: Added welcome.
    IN GOD WE TRUST!

If you can't dazzle them with brilliance, Baffle them with bull$***.

AMERICA-LOVE IT OR LEAVE IT!

Comment

Clean it off with a wire brush after you weld. I cant tell anything about it because it is so dirty.
      PowerMig 215
      Precision Tig 225
      Old Buzz Box

Hypertherm 600
      HH 125 EZ
      MM 350P
      TB 302 w/ 12RC

Originally posted by scab
      If you are the type of person who gets upset at things breaking brace yourself for possible dissappointment.

Comment

Plenty of pictures and info here... http://www.millerwelds.com/resources...tips/MIG_tips/