To purchase/find steel

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• To purchase/find steel

Hey everyone, this is my first post here! I am a college student and I just took my first welding classes with MIG welding, and I was wondering if you knew of any places to buy steel. I have access to places like Lowes and Home Depot, but their websites did not yield any results for the steel i would need to make relatively small architectural models. The scraps that I learned on were small square tubes that would be good if they werent so banged up and covered in slag.

So are there any well known stores that supply pieces of steel for a reasonable price?

It always helps if you put your location in your profile, so folks who might be near you can give you specific places.
    I buy new steel from a metal builing company here (Meuller Buildings), who have MUCHbetter prices than those places! Also, check Thrift Stores for the scrap that people drop off, but they can't use (that's where I get almost all mine). Look in Craigslist, "Free" category, for "stuff' avoid the chintzy patio furniture, lamps, cheapo head/footboards, etc., which are made from thin wall tubing.
    "Good Enough Never Is"

Comment

hd/lowes/hardware stores/etc sell a limited variety of small pieces for high
      prices. on-line, catalog, etc, places will have a large variety of pieces
      in all sizes, for high prices.

i suggest you look in the yellow pages under "steel" and/or "metal"
      or google "steel suppliers" and whatever the local towns/cities
      are... you can also google local fabrication businesses and
      see if they have scrap that they would be willing to part with

also, keep your eyes open on the local trash day... it's amazing
      what some people throw away

frank

Comment

Metal scrap and recycling facilities can be handy.