welding thin 16 ga and 18 ga Aluminum with a spool gun

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• welding thin 16 ga and 18 ga Aluminum with a spool gun

i am new to welding aluminum and i have a ironman 230 with a optional hobart spool gun. The chart on the welder says it will weld 16 and 18 ga aluminum with a spool gun. i tried the settings on this chart. They did not work. i kept burning thru. Ive tried a fast travel speed with the same results. Tried lowering the power setting to the lowest notch and still burn thru. Even tried turning the 100% argon up and down with the same result. i was wondering there is a electrode in the cabinet, behind the spool of wire. Its a setting labeled 230v or theres a 200v. Is the a high setting and low setting for this welder? If so would this solve my problem with welding 16 and 18 ga aluminum

Do you have correct polarity for aluminum?...

Dale
    Lives his life vicariously through his own self.

Comment

it says electrode positive but i have tried electrode negative too and it just makes nasty lil bubblegum looking *****

Comment

it welds 1/4'' and 1/8'' aluminum perfectly fine. its just like it has way too much power. so i didnt know if changing the electrode to 200v would get the power down enough to weld 16 and 18 ga?

Comment

That thin is a TIG job.
          So little time...So many machine tools.........
          www.flipmeisters.com

Miller, Hobart & Lincoln TIG/MIG/-
          Hypertherm Plasma (Thanks Jim)
          Plasma-Cam DHC (coming shortly)
          Harris OA
          Too many motorcycles.............-
          sigpic

Comment

I've been told, that when you increase the wire speed, you also increase the voltage.

The guy that said it was a college instructor/prof.

Comment

Originally posted by Rockin JB Ranch View Post