Aluminum tank questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Aluminum tank questions

I am a noob at MIG welding aluminum but I just got a HH210 and a spoolgun. I am about to fab up a tank and have some questions for the experts. I have a few criteria that I need to follow, so I'll give you the down and dirty. I am making a 125 gallon tank (livewell) that must me under 100lbs, and must be robust. I am planning on going with 11 gauge (0.090) but I am afraid that thin of material won't be to forgiving for a novice MIG welder like me. I have TIG'd aluminum many moons ago though. I plan on going with 3003 because the corners will be bent. What do you guys think, to thin, unreal expectations?

Ok here are a few questions also, I have gotten a few prices on "11 gauge" material through my local welding shops and the prices have varied anything for $125-$175 a sheet. I didn't think much about it until I saw the gauge thickness charts on here......those numbers are for STEEL not aluminum. 11 gauge aluminum is .090 but steel is 1/8", BIG difference. I referenced back to my prices and I got to wondering if some of the welding shops assumed I meant 11 gauge steel equivalent instead of .090AL. Also in my haste I didn’t ask if they were quoting me 3003 and not 6061 which I will assume they weren't. Is it "best practice" to assume 11 gauge is referenced as .125 for all materials?

Allen

First thing I need to know is how are you going to configure your tank? Is going to be a two piece square tank? are you planning on welding a bunch of pieces together to make your tank? Is it going to be a formed round tank?...And if your not REAL familiar with a spool gun why are you going to try for a liquid tight seal?I think aluminum is a bad choice for a DRINKING water tank.....why not plastic or vinyl?
    Some people require more attention than others.....Like a LOST DOG and strangers holding out biscuits....

Dynasty 350
    Hobart Beta Mig 200
    Twenty seven Hammers