corner welding aluminum

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• corner welding aluminum

Hey im new to the whole tig welder realm but i have welded aluminum with a spool gun for a few years not that that helps that mutch. any how im trying to weld 1/8 plate together on the corners but i am having trouble getting the 2 pices to create a single puddle. once i do get a single puddle i can make a bead that is ok fo just starting. my welder is a syncrowave 250 dx 3/32 tungsten and using argon only. voltage at 110 ish and the wave is balanced or a bit to the penetrate side any help would be great. thanks

Inside corner joint or outside corner joint.

Outside is easy if you just dab a little wire to get started then get busy adding wire and welding. Tack often to keep the joint correct.

If you want to weld an outside corner joint autogenous, it's a bit harder. I just gag the tungsten a tiny bit into the puddle and it flows together very easily. I know that I will catch some flack for advocating the gaging of tungsten on purpose but if you do it right, you wont hurt the tungsten or the weld.

Inside corner joints are tough if you aren't experienced at it. Start away from an inside corner and run in towards it.

Ten different welders will tell you ten different ways to do the same thing.
    Two turn tables and a microphone.

Comment

yah it is the outside corner but my problem is tacking it together without wire. im new so can you tell me what gaging is? thanks

Comment

Gagging the tungsten = touching the puddle. If you do it ever so gently, you can get by without hurting the weld.

I spail reel bad. Meant to say gagging.
        Two turn tables and a microphone.

Comment

I find it easier to start a bit away from the corner - maybe 1/2" oor so, then once a bead is somewhat esablished run it to the corner and start the final weld.